BENEFITS AND RESULTS
It was completely unpredictable which idioms are actually affected by a wide dissemination and which ones are not. There were some vague ideas that idioms originating in works of world literature, in the Bible or Greco-Roman classics, tend to exist in many languages, but nothing definite could be said which these idioms are in reality. Neither the numerous studies on idioms of various individual languages nor the equally comprehensive work on contrastive comparisons of the idioms of two or more languages have so far been able to name the actual idioms that have equivalents in many European languages and thus describe what idioms can be counted among the core inventory of a common European phraseology.

Phraseological research has to get away from accidental observations on "similarities" or "differences" of idioms in a few languages and instead study the phenomena across as many languages as possible. Above all, phraseology is a linguistic level that - due to its interrelation with culture - can be better explored and understood in a pan-European context. The Eurolinguistic approach of the WI project, focussing the attention on Europe as a whole, now enables us to answer more precisely various questions concerning the linguistic situation of Europe and questions regarding potential explanations of cross-linguistic similarities of idioms - be they genetic affiliation, the increasing influence of English on other languages or the "common European cultural heritage" and to define the theoretical questions more clearly. See examples with maps.

An inventory of widespread idioms in the form of a reference book with maps, a Lexicon of Common Figurative Units, is a matter of urgent necessity in order to provide researchers with information that goes beyond only a few languages. It will be useful for a great deal of further research, not least for studies on the phraseologies of non-European languages. More than any "contrastive" approach arbitrarily selecting one European language as a basis for comparison, an inventory of WIs could be helpful for analyzing languages that are new to phraseological research. The results of this project will be of interest also beyond the field of phraseological research.

Results:
  1. The empirical studies (s. approach) have produced a total of more than 500 idioms that fulfill the criteria of widespread idioms. The question of the cultural domains that the WIs belong to can now be answered. Idioms that are really widespread across the languages of Europe and beyond have been categorized according to their culture-boundness. The question of their etymology origine could be clarified for most of the idioms. From structuring the set of widespread idioms according to the underlying cultural and historical features quantitative aspects have also emerged.

  2. The WI project is partly connected to areal linguistics, i.e. the interpretation of spatially differentiated linguistic phenomena by means of cartographic representations. Therefore, maps have been produced by plotting the data of the WI surveys onto the map of Europe. Because of the geographical overlap between many languages, the maps we can draw must necessarily be schematic. Nevertheless the projection of the WI data onto the map often shows a clear picture and enables us to draw conclusions from these maps. The maps show that the languages of East Europe do not differ from those of Middle and West Europe with respect to their WIs. The "Slavic Orthodox world" does not reveal any special deviation. There is not a single case where the use of the Latin or Cyrillic alphabet turns out to be separative. See examples with maps.

  3. Although we cannot gain insight into the ways of borrowing and spreading of idioms across many languages by means of the synchronic surveys (large-scale historical studies of the languages would be needed here), some attempts at explaining cross-linguistic similarities of idioms can be qualified by the WI data, among them the assumption that the genetic affiliation of the languages a WI belongs to could play an important role. It became apparent, that the existence of idiom equivalents in other languages has nothing to do with the language families in question.

  4. There is the supposition that the increasing influence of English on other languages is the cause of the spreading of idioms across many languages, a view that also can be qualified to a certain extent. Although there is a large number of studies on (lexical, syntactic, etc.) "Anglicisms" in various languages, the influence of English phraseology on other languages has hardly ever been the topic of systematic research. Nevertheless, it has been claimed that idioms that have been found to be "similar" in several languages usually are borrowings from English. Most widespread idioms go back to much older layers of linguistic and cultural contacts in Europe.

  5. The greatest part of WIs is made up by idioms belonging to the domain of intertextuality, i.e. idioms originating from an identifiable textual source (originally direct quotations or allusions to an entire text). They are treated in Volume I of the publication, see Content of Part I. A large section of WIs can be traced back to classical antiquity, to the Bible or narrative traditions. Works of world literature are not that important in producing widespread idioms as generally has been assumed; among the large number of pre-tested idioms only few WIs could be identified. A whole series of further idioms based on quotations from poets are well-known in individual languages but do not match the WI criteria (cf. aim of the project). What may be regarded as a new discovery is that there are textual sources effective in constituting WIs that are quite different from the "European cultural heritage of classical and Christian provenance", e.g. idioms going back to elements of foreign cultures. Even film producing seems to be one of the modern textual sources which are promoting the diffusion of new idioms.

  6. It is beyond doubt that the reason for the wide spread of biblical idioms lies not so much in processes of borrowing from one language into another but in a direct access, individually in each language, to the respective texts of the Bible. The same may be true for WIs going back to other subgroups of intertextuality. However, these strands of tradition are by far not as well researched as the phenomenon of biblical idioms. In the area of narrative traditions (fables, anecdotes, fairy tales etc.), the narratives themselves were already part of the wide-spread common property in European regions and are related to "vestige" versions of them (later idioms). There are many contemporary WIs that were already very popular with classical authors (including many inconspicuous idioms with nothing to suggest their classical origin). The works of Erasmus of Rotterdam alone contain 50 proverbs and proverbial phrases that then became established in the developing European vernaculars and live on to this day as widespread idioms in many languages.

  7. Among the European languages represented in the WI project there are 38 standard languages and 36 varieties which can be subsumed under the term lesser used languages because they are either restricted to a very small area with only few speakers, or they are less vital or prestigious, roofed by a dominant major language, lacking a higher degree of standardization and traditions of writing. There are some divergences between the occurrence of WIs in standard languages and lesser used varieties. Substantial differences become noticeable in the subgroups of ancient classical, literary and narrative texts as well as in history. In terms of sociolinguistics, most WIs of these groups may be considered high-register; therefore, there is no place for them in the less official, mainly orally used languages. Some other WIs are scarcely shared by the lesser used languages which is due to special source concepts such as 'sports' and 'modern technology' (groups K and N, see SAMPLE_PAGES-modern_technology _chapter_14.pdf). In contrast to that most other cultural domains are shared by WIs of both the major and the minor languages. Most common features can be found within the domains of folk believe, observation of nature, and body part concepts.


The second volume of the "Lexicon of Common Figurative Units" will be published by Peter Lang USA. It goes without saying that in this book all participants will be mentioned with thanks.

Cf. Table of Contents of Part I and Table of Contents of Part II

NUTZEN UND ERGEBNISSE
Trotz vager Vorkenntnisse, dass etwa Idiome literarischer, biblischer oder antiker Herkunft eher in einer Reihe von Sprachen anzutreffen sind, war es letztlich vollkommen unvorhersagbar, welche Idiome den Status der weiten Verbreitung aufweisen und welche nicht. Keine der vielen Arbeiten zu Idiomen verschiedener Einzelsprachen noch der ebenso zahlreichen kontrastiven Studien zu zwei oder mehr Sprachen war in der Lage, jene Idiome zu benennen, die Entsprechungen in vielen Sprachen Europas haben, also den Kernbereich der gemeinsamen europäischen Phraseologie bilden.

Statt zufällige „Gemeinsamkeiten“ oder „Unterschiede“ von Idiomen einiger Sprachen zu beobachten, sollte die Phraseologieforschung diese Phänomene anhand möglichst vieler Sprachen untersuchen. Vor allem ist die Phraseologie – aufgrund ihrer Verbundenheit mit Kultur – eine sprachliche Ebene, die sich in einem gesamteuropäischen Kontext besser untersuchen und verstehen lässt. Durch den eurolinguistischen Forschungsansatz des WI-Projekts, der Europa als Ganzes ins Blickfeld rückt, können einige Fragen zur sprachlichen Situation Europas und zur Verbreitung von Idiomen exakter beantwortet werden, als dies zuvor der Fall war. So können die bisher unscharfen Vorstellungen von den Ursachen der weiten Verbreitung von Idiomen (seien es die genetische Zugehörigkeit der Sprachen, der zunehmende Einfluss des Englischen auf andere Sprachen oder das „gemeinsame Kulturerbe Europas“) sowie theoretische Fragen präzisiert werden. Siehe Beispiele und Karten.

Ein Inventar der weit verbreiteten Idiome in Form eines Nachschlagewerks mit Karten ist ein Forschungsdesiderat. Ein solches Inventar, ein Lexicon of Common Figurative Units, möchte Informationen über einige Einzelsprachen hinaus zur Verfügung stellen; es lässt sich für weiterführende Forschungen nutzen, nicht zuletzt für Arbeiten zur Phraseologie außereuropäischer Sprachen. Mehr als jeder kontrastive Ansatz mit einer zufällig ausgewählten europäischen Sprache als Vergleichsbasis könnte das Inventar der WIs für neu zur Phraseologieforschung hinzukommende Sprachen hilfreich sein. Ergebnisse dieses Projekts sind über die Phraseologieforschung hinaus von Interesse.

Ergebnisse:
  1. Aus den empirischen Untersuchungen (s. Vorgehensweise) sind über 500 Idiome hervorgegangen, die die Kriterien der weit verbreiteten Idiome erfüllen. Die Frage, welchen kulturellen Domänen diese Idiome angehören, kann nun beantwortet werden. Idiome, die tatsächlich in vielen Sprachen Europas und darüber hinaus verbreitet sind, wurden nach ihrer Kulturgebundenheit kategorisiert. Für die meisten Idiome konnte die Frage nach ihrer etymologischen Herkunft geklärt werden. Bei der Anordnung der WIs nach den zugrunde liegenden kulturellen Wissensstrukturen traten auch quantitative Aspekte zutage.

  2. Das WI-Projekt ist zu einem Teil in der Areallinguistik angesiedelt, deren Ziel es ist, räumlich differenzierbare sprachliche Phänomene mit Hilfe kartographischer Darstellungen zu interpretieren. Entsprechend wurden die Daten der WI-Umfragen auf die Karte Europas projiziert. Angesichts mehrerer sich räumlich überlappender Sprachen werden keine Verbreitungs- sondern Vorkommenskarten erstellt. Die Projektion der WI-Daten auf die Karte zeigt oft ein klares Bild und ermöglicht es, einzelne Schlussfolgerungen zu ziehen. Die Karten lassen erkennen, dass sich die Sprachen Osteuropas hinsichtlich der WIs in keiner Weise von jenen Mittel- und Westeuropas unterscheiden; die „slawisch-orthodoxe Welt“ zeigt keinerlei Differenzen. In keinem einzigen Fall wirkt sich die Verwendung des lateinischen bzw. kyrillischen Alphabets als etwas Trennendes aus. Siehe Beispiele und Karten.

  3. Wenn auch die Verbreitungswege der Idiome in viele Sprachen aufgrund der synchronischen Materialerhebung nicht erforscht werden können (hierfür wären umfangreiche sprachgeschichtliche Untersuchungen erforderlich), sind einige Ergebnisse festzuhalten: Einzelne Versuche, die interlingualen Gemeinsamkeiten von Idiomen zu erklären, können aufgrund der WI-Daten widerlegt werden. Hierzu gehört die Annahme, die genetische Verwandtschaft der Sprachen könne eine Rolle spielen: Zwischen der Zugehörigkeit eines Idioms zu seiner Sprachfamilie und dem Vorkommen von Entsprechungen in anderen Sprachen ist kein Zusammenhang zu erkennen.

  4. Auch die Annahme, die Verbreitung von Idiomen in vielen Sprachen sei auf den zunehmenden Einfluss des Englischen zurückzuführen, kann durch die WI-Ergebnisse zum Teil widerlegt werden. Obwohl Anglizismen (lexikalischer oder syntaktischer Art) in verschiedenen Sprachen untersucht wurden, finden sich kaum Arbeiten zum Einfluss der englischen Phraseologie auf andere Sprachen. Dennoch ist in phraseologischen Arbeiten mehrfach von einer Annäherung der phraseologischen Systeme gegenwärtiger europäischer Sprachen aufgrund von Übernahmen aus dem Englischen die Rede. Die meisten weit verbreiteten Idiome führen jedoch auf weit ältere Schichten sprachlicher und kultureller Kontakte in Europa zurück.

  5. Idiome, die auf Intertextualität zurückführen (auf eine identifizierbare Textquelle, seien es ursprünglich direkte Zitate oder Referenzen auf einen gesamten Text), machen den größten Teil der WIs aus. Sie werden in Band I behandelt, siehe Inhaltsverzeichnis von Teil I. Größere Gruppen bilden Idiome, die auf antike Autoren, auf die Bibel oder Erzähltraditionen zurückgehen. Dichtungen der Weltliteratur sind dagegen nur selten als Quellen weit verbreiteter Idiome anzutreffen. Dies ging bereits aus den Vortests hervor, die zahlreiche Idiome klassisch-literarischer Provenienz auf eine weite Verbreitung hin überprüft hatten. Idiome, die auf Werke bekannter Dichter zurückführen, haben zwar in mehrere einzelne Sprachen Eingang gefunden, die meisten von ihnen erfüllen jedoch nicht die WI-Kriterien (vgl. Ziel des Projekts). Neu ist dagegen die Erkenntnis, dass neben den Textquellen des „europäischen Kulturerbes antiker und christlicher Prägung“ ganz andere Domänen als Ursprung weit verbreiteter Idiome hervortreten, darunter WIs fremdkultureller Herkunft, die zum Teil durch Filmproduktionen der jüngeren Zeit Verbreitung fanden.

  6. Für die Verbreitung von Idiomen biblischer Herkunft steht es außer Zweifel, dass es sich hier weniger um Entlehnungsprozesse von einer Sprache in die andere als jeweils um einen direkten Rückgriff auf die betreffenden Texte der Bibel selbst handelt. Vergleichbares könnte auch auf WIs zutreffen, die auf andere Untergruppen der Intertextualität zurückführen. Diese Traditionsstränge sind jedoch weit weniger erforscht als jene der biblischen Idiome. So waren im Bereich der Erzähltraditionen (Fabeln, Schwänke, Märchen usw.) die Erzählungen selbst bereits weit verbreitet, aus denen die Einzelsprachen unabhängig von einander schöpfen konnten. Vorstufen vieler gegenwärtiger WIs waren schon bei antiken Autoren sehr beliebt (darunter sind mehrere unauffällige Idiome, bei denen nichts auf ihre klassische Herkunft schließen lässt). Allein die Werke des Erasmus von Rotterdam umfassen 50 Sprichwörter und Redensarten, die in die sich entwickelnden europäischen Volkssprachen übernommen wurden und als WIs bis heute in vielen Sprachen weiterleben.

  7. Die im Projekt vertretenen europäischen Sprachen verteilen sich auf 38 Standardsprachen und 36 Varietäten, die unter dem Terminus weniger gebrauchte Sprachen zusammengefasst werden können, da sie entweder auf ein kleines Areal mit wenigen Sprechern beschränkt oder weniger vital oder prestigeträchtig sind, oder weil sie von einer größeren Sprache überdacht werden oder einen geringeren Grad an Standardisierung und Schreibtraditionen aufweisen. Einige Divergenzen zwischen dem Vorkommen von WIs in Standardsprachen und weniger gebrauchten Varietäten werden sichtbar. Deutliche Unterschiede zeigen sich in den Herkunftsbereichen der antiken, literarischen oder narrativen Texte sowie bei der Domäne „Geschichte“. Aus soziolinguistischer Sicht gehören die meisten WIs dieser Gruppen einem hohen Register an. Daher haben sie keinen Platz in den weniger offiziellen, vorwiegend mündlich gebrauchten Sprachvarietäten. Andere WIs kommen aufgrund spezieller Ausgangskonzepte wie ‘Sport’ und ‘moderne Technik’ in den weniger gebrauchten Sprachen selten vor. WIs der übrigen kulturellen Wissensdomänen erstrecken sich oft sowohl auf Standard- als auch auf Klein- und Minderheitensprachen. Die meisten Gemeinsamkeiten finden sich in den Domänen, des Volksglaubens, der Naturbeobachtungen und somatischen Konzepte.

    Der zweite Band des "Lexicon of Common Figurative Units" soll 2015 erscheinen. Selbstverständlich werden alle Mitarbeiter/innen in dem Buch dankend erwähnt.

    Siehe Inhaltsverzeichnis von Teil I und Inhaltsverzeichnis von Teil II